Cloud Computing


Subscribe to the InfoTech eNewsletter

TMCnews Featured Article

September 08, 2010

Cloud Computing Alliance Announces Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge

By Rajani Baburajan, TMCnet Contributor

As the adoption of cloud computing is getting more aggressive, it is critical that the industry provide training and certification of professionals to assure that cloud computing is implemented responsibly with the appropriate security controls.

To help professionals achieve this, The Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) announced that the Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK) is now open for testing at

Labeled as the industry’s first user certification program for secure cloud computing, the CCSK aims to ensure that a broad range of professionals associated with cloud computing have a demonstrated awareness of the security threats and best practices for securing the cloud.

The Cloud Security Alliance is a not-for-profit organization committed to promote the use of best practices for providing security assurance within Cloud Computing, and to provide education on the uses of Cloud Computing to help secure all other forms of computing.

The organization has developed a widely adopted catalogue of security best practices, the Security Guidance for Critical Areas of Focus in Cloud Computing, V2.1.

An additional resource is available from the European Network and Information Security Agency or “ENISA” through a white paper titled “Cloud Computing: Benefits, Risks and Recommendations for Information Security.”

The CCSK provides evidence that an individual has successfully completed an examination covering the key concepts of the CSA guidance and ENISA white paper.

The CCSK program has already gained support from leading companies in the industry including: eBay (News - Alert), ING, Lockheed Martin, Sallie Mae, Zynga, CA, CaseCentral, HCL Technologies, Hubspan, LogLogic, Fiberlink, McAfee, Ping Identity, Qualys, Solutionary, Symantec, Trend Micro (News - Alert), Veracode, VeriSign, Vordel, WhiteHat Security and Zscaler.

These companies plan to certify their employees through CCSK to ensure they have a solid baseline of understanding of the best practices for securing data and applications in the cloud.

“Critical services are being provided via the cloud, creating an urgent need for cloud security skills among IT professionals,” Jim Reavis, executive director, The Cloud Security Alliance, said.

“The CCSK is a low cost certification that establishes a robust baseline of cloud security knowledge. Combined with existing professional certifications, it helps provide necessary assurance of user competency in this important area of growth,” Reavis said.

The CCSK exam is offered at a discounted pricing of $195 through Dec 31st; regular pricing at $295 begins January 1st, according to officials at The Cloud Security Alliance. 

Earlier this year, The Cloud Security Alliance and the MashSSL Alliance, an organization of industry leaders evangelizing the next generation SSL standard suitable for cloud computing, announced partnership to further accelerate the adoption of secure cloud computing. 

Rajani Baburajan is a contributing editor for TMCnet. To read more of Rajani's articles, please visit her columnist page.

Edited by Erin Monda